Allison Russell Previews New LP ‘The Returner’


Watch: Allison Russell Previews New LP ‘The Returner’ with Latest Single and Visual Equalizer for “Snakelife”

Photo Credit: Dana Trippe

Allison Russell has released the latest preview of her impending full-length release, titled The Returner, due out on Sept. 8, 2023, via Fantasy Records. The single, dubbed “Snakelife,” functions as the four-time Grammy-nominated singer, songwriter, poet, activist, and multi-instrumentalist’s evocative contemplation on transformation presented through the album thesis: “I used to dream, but now I write; I wield my words like spindles bright; To weave a world where every child Is safe and loved; And Black is beautiful and good.” 

The musician has also announced a major U.S. headlining tour to complement the forthcoming release, beginning on October 13 at The Ark in Ann Arbor, Mich., and wrapping in January 2024. On the road, Russell and her band will take part in highly anticipated stops at The El Rey Theatre in Los Angeles on November 1,  Music Hall of Williamsburg in Brooklyn on November 30, and The Basement East in Russell’s chosen home, Nashville, Tenn., on Jan. 11.

Before picking up newly added headlining appearances, Russell will perform at Bristol Rhythm & Roots Festival, FreshGrass Festival, Farm Aid, XPoNential Music Festival and more. The festival dates coincide with the impending album drop. The aforementioned record, The Returner, was written and co-produced by Russell along with dim star (her partner JT Nero and Drew Lindsay) and was recorded over Solstice week in December 2022 at Henson Recording Studios in Los Angeles. 

The Returner features Russell’s “Rainbow Coalition” ensemble, including Elenna Canlas, Elizabeth Pupo-Walker, Ganessa James, Joy Clark, Kerenza Peacock, Larissa Maestro, Mandy Fer (Sway Wild), Megan Coleman, Meg McCormick, SistaStrings (Chauntee & Monique Ross), Wendy & Lisa (Wendy Melvoin & Lisa Coleman aka The Revolution) and Wiktoria Bialic. 

Russell’s sophomore set arrives after the 2021 release of her debut solo album, Outside Child, a profoundly moving and cathartic celebration of survivor’s joy. The follow-up, which can also be considered the artist’s second chapter, is a sensationally rich exploration of liberation, love, self-respect, and further jubilee for survivors who have made it to the other side. 

Pre-order The Returner. Scroll down to watch the visual equalizer for “Snakelife” and stream the single below. 

Visit Russell’s official website to learn more about her upcoming live appearances.

The Returner – Track List:

  1. Springtime 

  2. The Returner 

  3. All Without Within 

  4. Demons

  5. Eve Was Black 

  6. Stay Right Here 

  7. Shadowlands 

  8. Rag Child

  9. Snakelife 

 10. Requiem

Source link

Comments are closed.